Guaranteed Lowest Cost

$0 SET-UP

$0 SHIPPING

$0 INSTALL*

*RESTRICTIONS APPLY. INTERLOCK CAN IS FREE WITH PURCHASE OF OPTIONAL INSURANCE. FREE INSTALLATION ONLY VALID ON STANDARD INSTALLATION.

Not an Interlock Fan? Get the Can FREE!* Call (844) 387-0326

Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Arkansas

Low Cost Interlock is a leading provider of ignition interlock device services in Arkansas. We are dedicated to providing each of our customers with expert service and guidance from some of the most knowledgeable, skilled technicians in the business. You can find dozens of ignition interlock device installation locations in Arkansas, ensuring that you get the help you need, wherever you are.

DUI Laws and Penalties in Arkansas

Arkansas has an implied consent law, which states that by owning an Arkansas driver’s license, you automatically give an officer of the law permission to administer a chemical test if they suspect that you are driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you refuse to take the test, you are breaking the implied consent law, leading to a license suspension from the Department of Finance and Administration.

  • First offense: Six-month license suspension
  • Second offense: Two-year license suspension
  • Third offense: 30-month license suspension
  • Fourth offense: Four-year license revocation

It should be noted that implied consent law offenses are separate from DWI offenses if you are found guilty in court.

Along with criminal penalties, you will likely suffer administrative penalties from the state’s Department of Finance and Administration, usually in the form of a license suspension.

You can learn more about Arkansas implied consent law penalties here.

On top of a suspension, you may be required to enroll in a drug and alcohol treatment and education program.

To reinstate your license you must complete all of the following:

  • State sanctioned Drug and Alcohol Education or treatment program.
  • Attend a Victim Impact Panel class and submit a completion certificate to Driver Control.
  • Have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle for a period equal to the driver’s license suspension time.
  • Pay a $150 reinstatement fee.
  • Individual with a “Revoked” license status will be required to pass all phases of the Arkansas Driver’s License Exam.

Read more about Arkansas DUI/DWI laws and penalties here.

Please note: some states – like Arkansas – may have an early recall violation policy, thus a client may incur the standard calibration/download/inspection fee charged by the Service Center.

General Information

DUI/DWI/BUI/BWI OFFENSES

Statutory Reference: § 5-65-103

Suspension periods for DWI/BWI Alcohol offenses are as follows:

  • 1st offense = 6 months suspension.
  • 2nd offense = 24-month suspension (if 2nd offense was within a 5-year time span).
  • 3rd offense = 30-months suspension (if 3rd offense was within a 5-year time span).
  • 4th offense = 4-year revocation (if 4th offense was within a 5-year time span)

Statutory Reference: § 5-65-205

DWI/BWI “Alcohol” related administrative convictions require the following state statute requirements be completed before the licensee may be reinstated:

  • Individual must complete a state sanctioned Drug and Alcohol Education or treatment program. They must submit the “original” signed completion certificate to Driver Control.
  • Individual must attend a Victim Impact Panel class and submit a completion certificate to Driver Control.
  • Individual must have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle for a period equal to the driver’s license suspension time.  They must submit a “Confirmation of Interlock Requirement” form to Driver Control.
  • Individual must pay a $150 reinstatement fee. Payments may be made in person at any State Revenue Office, by mail or online at mydmv.arkansas.gov.
  • Individual with a “Revoked” license status will be required to pass all phases of the Arkansas Driver’s License Exam.

DUI/DWI Information

When an individual is stopped or arrested upon probable cause for an alcohol or drug related offense, the arresting law enforcement officer will give the individual an Official Driver’s License Receipt and take the individual’s driver’s license. This action is part of Arkansas Administrative Law.

The individual will also receive a “Notice of Suspension/ Revocation/ Disqualification of Driving Privilege Form (ALS)” which includes the following information:

  • The individual will be eligible to drive temporarily for thirty (30) days with the Driver’s License Receipt, provided they had a valid driver’s license at the time of the arrest.
  • The individual has the right to request an administrative hearing with a Driver Control Hearing Officer within seven (7) calendar days to contest the administrative suspension.
  • The individual may also request an uncontested hearing with Driver Control to determine their eligibility for an interlock restricted license or a restricted driving permit contingent on the type of DUI/DWI/BUI/BWI offense.

 

DWI Alcohol Driving While Intoxicated/Alcohol
BWI Alcohol Boating While Intoxicated/Alcohol, regardless of driver’s license class
DWI Drugs Driving While Intoxicated/Drugs
BWI Drugs Boating While Intoxicated/Drugs, regardless of driver’s license class
Refused to Test Refusal to Submit to Test (aka Implied Consent Law)
Underage DUI Driving Under the Influence – BAC .02 – .079 (Underage only)
Underage BUI Boating Under the Influence – BAC .02 – .079   (Underage only)
Underage Refused to Test Refusal to Submit to Test (aka Implied Consent Law)
MIP/Alcohol Minor in Possession of Alcohol
Misrepresent ID/Alcohol Misrepresentation of ID for Purchase of Alcohol
CDL DWI DWI while holding a Commercial Driver’s License or Commercial Learner’s Permit
CMV DWI DWI committed in a commercial vehicle, regardless of driver’s license class – BAC .04