Manchester Connecticut Interlock
Low Cost Interlock is the leader in ignition interlock device services. Our team is committed to providing efficient service and delivering a reliable product that always provides accurate results. If you need an ignition interlock device in CT, you can find several in the city of Manchester and its surrounding neighborhoods. Click here to find a ignition interlock installation location near you.
Schedule an Install
To Schedule an Install, please provide the information below and an LCI Representative will contact you shortly.
CT Auto Restylers
Manchester, CT 06040
Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Manchester, CT
In Connecticut, you can receive a charge for operating under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OUI). Much like other states, Connecticut operates under implied consent laws. This means that, by owning a driver’s license, you have implied consent to be tested for an OUI if an officer of the law suspects that you are intoxicated or otherwise under the influence. By refusing to take a chemical test administered by a law officer, you are breaking the implied consent law and will suffer a license suspension.
You may also suffer admin per se penalties in addition to any criminal penalties for an OUI. These are administrative penalties handed down by the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles and are separate from penalties passed by a court of law. The process occurs immediately as soon as you refuse or fail a breath test. Your license is confiscated and you will receive a suspension 30 days after your initial arrest. If you feel that the suspension is not justified, you have 7 days to request a hearing to contest the suspension.
Generally, you will suffer greater admin per se penalties for refusing to take a test than for failing. Refusing to take a test requires the installation of an ignition interlock device.
- First offense: 1 year
- Second offense: 2 years
- Third and subsequent offenses: 3 years
Failing a test also requires the installation of an IID, but the periods are much shorter.
- First offense: 6 months
- Second offense: 1 year
- Third offense: 2 years
Along with administrative penalties, you may have to serve criminal penalties if you are found guilty in a court of law. Penalties differ from case to case but include a combination of:
- Jail time
- Community service
- Court costs and fees
- Additional driver’s license suspension or revocation time
- Mandatory completion of an alcohol education program
Low Cost Interlock offers the cheapest ignition interlock device on the market. We are here to simplify the process and give you less to worry about. If you have questions or need an ignition interlock device in CT, please contact us today.