Guaranteed Lowest Cost

$0 SET-UP

$0 SHIPPING

$0 INSTALL*

*RESTRICTIONS APPLY. INTERLOCK CAN IS FREE WITH PURCHASE OF OPTIONAL INSURANCE. FREE INSTALLATION ONLY VALID ON STANDARD INSTALLATION.

Not an Interlock Fan? Get the Can FREE!* Call (844) 387-0326

Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Indiana

Low Cost Interlock is a premiere provider of ignition interlock devices in Indiana. Our ignition interlock services are designed to make the ignition interlock program easy and convenient for you, ensuring that you complete your interlock obligations without hassle. Our system has been tested to ensure reliability in an affordable, easy-to-use design.

Indiana DUI Penalties

In Indiana, anyone is considered operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 or higher. In Indiana, persons charged with OWI can face both administrative and judicial procedures. Which means you could face penalties with both the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) as well as the Indiana court system.

Operating a Motor Vehicle While Intoxicated

Read Indiana’s current laws for driving while intoxicated.

If You Are Arrested for Operating a Motor Vehicle While Intoxicated

  • You will be handcuffed and taken to the police station.
  • Your car and your person will be searched.
  • Your car will be towed at your expense.
  • You will be asked to take a certified breath test. If you refuse, your license will automatically be suspended for one year. (Implied consent law IC 9-30-6-1)
  • If you take a breath test and it shows that your blood alcohol content is .08% or more, your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days.
  • To be released from jail, bail will have to be posted.

If You Are Convicted of Operating a Motor Vehicle While Intoxicated

First Offense

  • You will have to pay court costs and fees in excess of $300.
  • You may receive a jail sentence of up to one year.
  • You will be fined up to $5,000.
  • Your license may be suspended up to two (2) years, or
  • You may be placed on probation and be required to enroll in, and pay for, a substance abuse education course. Your license may also be suspended for a minimum of 30 days followed by a 180-day probationary period in which you can only drive for employment purposes.
  • You may be required to attend a victim impact panel.
  • You may be required to submit to urine testing for drugs and alcohol.
  • You may also face other terms of probation.

Second Offense

  • You will be imprisoned for a minimum of five days or up to three years, and/or be required to perform community service.
  • You will be fined up to $10,000.
  • Your license will be suspended at least 180 days and up to two years.
  • You will also face other terms of probation listed under first offense.

Third Offense

  • You may be imprisoned for a minimum of 10 days and up to three years and/or be required to perform community service.
  • You will be fined up to $10,000.
  • Your license will be suspended for a least one year and may be suspended for up to 10 years.
  • You may be adjudged as a habitual traffic violator.
  • You may be charged and sentenced as a habitual substance offender, for which you may be imprisoned for an additional term of one year and up to an additional eight years.
  • You will also face other terms of probation listed under first offense.

Open Containers & Consumption in a Motor Vehicle

Read Indiana’s current open container and consumption laws.

Minor Consumption and Fake IDs

Read Indiana’s current minor consumption and false identification laws.