Low Cost Interlock is the leading provider of ignition interlock device services in Wichita, Kansas. We offer unbeatable customer service and cutting edge hardware that ensures reliable and efficient operation so that you can spend less time waiting for your car breathalyzer results and more time hitting the open road. You can conveniently find several interlock device installation locations in Wichita and in neighboring cities.
Schedule an Install
To Schedule an Install, please provide the information below and an LCI Representative will contact you shortly.
Safe Key Monitoring
535 S Emporia Suite 104
Wichita, KS 67202
Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Wichita
Kansas has strict laws for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs that may require you to seek a lawyer. Much like other states, Kansas has implied consent laws, which mean that if you have a license, you have given advance permission for an officer of the law to test you for alcohol if they suspect you to be driving under the influence.
Refusing to take this chemical test can lead to its own penalties separate from those you may undergo should you be charged with a DUI offense. These are known as administrative penalties, and even if you are acquitted of your DUI charges, you are still required to go through the administrative suspension period. First offense penalties for refusing to take a chemical test include:
- A license suspension of one year
- Ignition interlock device installation for two years
- A license reinstatement fee of $600
Subsequent offenses can lead to higher fees and longer suspension periods and IID requirements.
Along with administrative penalties for refusing a test, you may suffer further administrative penalties if you are actually charged for the DUI. Note that unlike other states, Kansas takes into account your lifetime driving record. Administrative penalties for a DUI charge include:
- A 30-day license suspension
- Ignition interlock device installation for 6 to 12 months
- A license reinstatement fee of $200
A DUI charge is considered a criminal offense. First offense conviction penalties include:
- Fines up to $1,000
- A minimum of 48 hours jail time
- 100 hours of community service
- License revocation
- Mandatory enrollment in drug and alcohol abuse programs
- Other court fines and fees
- Increased insurance rates
Subsequent offenses come with higher fees and longer jail time and community service hours. If you are required to install an ignition interlock in Kansas, you are responsible for paying all installation and monitoring fees.
Low Cost Interlock is the most affordable service provider of ignition interlock devices in Wichita and its surrounding areas. If you have any questions or need a breathalyzer installation today, please don’t hesitate to contact our Low Cost Interlock customer service today.