Guaranteed Lowest Price
FREE FIRST MONTH – FLEXIBLE BILLING – FREE SHIPPING*
Not an Interlock Fan?
Get the Can FREE!*
Call (844) 387-0326 – No Wait Times
Exclusive CADTP Partner!
*RESTRICTIONS APPLY. INTERLOCK CAN IS FREE WITH PURCHASE OF OPTIONAL PROTECTION PLAN. FREE SHIPPING APPLIES TO STANDARD RATE SHIPPING. ACTIVATION FEE STILL APPLIES.
Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Alaska
Low Cost Interlock is a leading provider of ignition interlock devices in Alaska. We offer affordable, reliable interlocks that are easy to use, ensuring that you can fulfill your state requirements and get back on the road. We hope to guide you through the entire interlock program experience and answer any questions you have along the way.
Alaska Interlock Device Guidelines
In Alaska, anyone convicted of a DUI is required to install an ignition interlock device on each vehicle they own and operate, even first-time offenders, after they have served their mandated suspension.
You are required to keep the ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for a minimum of 6 months.
You are required to keep the ignition interlock device installed for at least 12 months.
Third and Subsequent Convictions
You are required to keep the ignition interlock device installed for a minimum of 18 months.
In addition, you are required to pay all the costs associated with the maintenance and installation of the IID. You will also receive criminal sanctions for circumventing or otherwise tampering with your ignition interlock device.
For more information on an Ignition Interlock Limited License click here.
Alaska DUI Penalties
The penalties for a DUI generally differ based on prior offenses.
For first offenses:
- You may be sentenced to a minimum of 72 hours in prison,
- A fine of $1,500
- Minimum 90-day suspension.
If you commit a second DUI offense:
- Minimum of 20 days in jail
- Fine of $3,000
- License suspension of at least 1 year
A third offense can result in:
- 120 days of jail time
- Fine up to $10,000
- Minimum 3-year suspension
Subsequent offenses have a 5-year minimum suspension along with increasing jail time and fines. As a condition of probation or parole, the court can also order you to undergo screening and evaluation under an alcohol safety action program.
You can learn more about DUI penalties in the state of Alaska here.
IGNITION INTERLOCK LIMITED LICENSES (AS 28.15.201)
(DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OR ADMIN PER SE OFFENSES)
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can issue a limited license for non-commercial driving with the
installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). Ignition Interlock Limited Licenses can be issued after:
• The first 30 days for a 1st misdemeanor DUI conviction or Admin Per Se. offense.
A “first time offender” has not been previously criminally convicted, in Alaska or in any other state,
of DUI or Refusal within 15 years from the date of the present offense.
• The first 90 days for a 2nd or subsequent misdemeanor DUI conviction or Admin Per Se. offense.
To obtain a limited license, an applicant must:
• Complete an application
• Pass any required tests
• Pay a $100 processing fee
• Show proof of IID installation
• Satisfy the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) requirements
• Provide proof of financial responsibility for the future (filing SR-22 or posting a $125,000 bond)
Additionally, an applicant must certify that he or she understands the following provisions of the
• He or she is subject to the penalties for driving with a revoked license under AS 28.15.291 if the
vehicle being driven is not equipped with an ignition interlock device outside of an exempt area.
• Circumventing or tampering with the IID is a class A misdemeanor under AS 11.76.140.
• AS 28.15.201(d) requires that up-to-date service and calibration records for the ignition interlock
device must be maintained and carried in the vehicle throughout the period of the limited license.
The DMV cannot issue a limited license:
• For administrative revocations or court misdemeanor convictions for Refusal. [AS 28.15.201(d)(1)]
• For DUI or Refusal felony convictions. [AS 28.15.201(d)(1)]
• For operating commercial motor vehicles. [AS 28.33.140(f)] CFR 383.51
A CDL holder can obtain a limited license for the base privilege (D) to drive as the vehicle being
driven is a non-commercial vehicle.
• If the applicant has been convicted of DUI or Refusal while on probation for a prior DUI or Refusal
• If the applicant has been convicted of driving in violation of a limitation under AS 28.15.291(a)(2).
• If the applicant is currently revoked, suspended, denied, or cancelled in another state.
• For any other criminal offense following a court conviction. For example, the DMV has no authority
to issue a limited license for a Reckless Driving conviction.
The DMV has no authority to waive an Ignition Interlock Requirement for work vehicles. For a
misdemeanor DUI , the court may, pursuant to AS 12.55.102, issue an order waiving the IID
requirement for drivers operating employer owned vehicles.