Redding California Interlock
As the premier provider of ignition interlock device services, Low Cost Interlock is committed to providing you with the best products in the business. Our patented technology offers more reliable, efficient operation while supporting ease of use. We are also committed to accessibility and convenience, which is why you can easily find several certified ignition interlock installation locations throughout the city of Redding.
Schedule an Install
Registering takes less than 30 seconds.
To Schedule an Install, please provide the information below and an LCI Representative will contact you shortly.
Simply Auto Sound
Redding, CA 96002
Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Redding, CA
California has strict laws that attempt to deter drunk driving. Like other states, California features administrative or admin per se penalties, which are taken directly by the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles for all DUI cases. Administrative penalties occur when you either fail or refuse to take a breath test.
The arresting officer will immediately confiscate your license and issue a suspension order and a temporary license to get your affairs in order before your court date. The DMV will review your license information and the arresting officer’s report to determine if you deserve a suspension, but you can also request a hearing within the first 10 days of your initial suspension order.
The administrative suspension lengths vary from case to case, but you will generally get a longer suspension for refusing to take a chemical test than for failing the test. Refusing a test on your first DUI offense can result in a one-year suspension. A second offense within 10 years can lead to a two-year license revocation. Third and subsequent offenses can result in a three-year license revocation.
Admin per se penalties are separate from criminal penalties passed by a court of law during a trial or plea agreement. Criminal penalties depend on various factors, including your age, the type of license you have, and the number of previous DUI charges on your record. For your first DUI offense, criminal penalties can include:
- Up to six months of jail
- A maximum of $1,000 in fees (not including court costs and other fines)
- A license reissuing fee of $125
- Enrollment in a DUI program
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
By 2019, California will require the use of an ignition interlock device in all DUI charges. Currently IIDs are required in four pilot counties (Los Angeles, Alameda, Tulare, and Sacramento), and the court may require the use of an ignition interlock device to reinstate your driving privileges after a suspension. The court may make exceptions if you are required to operate an employer-owned vehicle for work. You are responsible for all maintenance and monitoring fees.
Low Cost Interlock offers affordable interlock services to help you successfully complete your ignition interlock device program. If you have questions about our car breathalyzers or need an ignition interlock installation today, please don’t hesitate to call our Low Cost Interlock customer service today.