Low Cost Interlock is the premier provider of ignition interlock installation and services in San Jose, California. Our team of technicians is dedicated to providing you with efficient service and the best equipment to ensure that you have a reliable ignition device that runs smoothly. We have several convenient interlock installation locations in San Jose near you.
Schedule an Install
Registering takes less than 30 seconds.
To Schedule an Install, please provide the information below and an LCI Representative will contact you shortly.
San Jose, CA 95129
Xtreme Car Audio
San Jose, CA 95116
Auto Image Custom
San Jose, CA 95117
Laws for an Ignition Interlock Device in San Jose
When you are arrested for driving under the influence in San Jose, your license will be suspended by the DMV immediately at the time of your arrest if your BAC is 0.08 or over. You will likely be given a 30-day temporary license until your trial date. During the trial, the court may order its own suspension that can vary based on the number of DUI offenses you have on your record in the last 10 years.
For a first offense, your license will be suspended for up to 6 months with an opportunity to apply for a restricted license at the court’s discretion. For a second offense, the suspension period is lengthened to 2 years, and you may apply for a restricted license after 90 days. A third offense comes with a license suspension of up to 3 years, though you may apply for a restricted license after 18 months. Fourth and subsequent offenses lead to 4 years of suspension with a chance to apply for a restricted license after 18 months.
A restricted license allows you to only drive a vehicle outfitted with an ignition interlock system. The length of time that you must have the car breathalyzer installed depends on the number of DUI offenses you have on your record and the type of conviction. In California, DUIs can be charged as misdemeanors or felonies. Most are charged as misdemeanors unless you are involved in an accident that leads to death or injury.
For a first DUI offense misdemeanor, your interlock period is set at 5 months. Second offenses require an interlock period of 12 months. For third offenses, you are required to have an ignition device on all vehicles you own and operate for 24 months. For fourth and subsequent offenses, your interlock period is 36 months.
Depending on your needs and the severity of your DUI conviction, the court may allow for exceptions if you drive a vehicle owned by an employer or if you operate a vehicle for work.
Low Cost Interlock is the most efficient and affordable option for those looking to install an ignition interlock device in California. If you have any questions, our customer service representatives are available 24/7 to answer all of you questions. Call us today!