Santa Cruz California Interlock
Low Cost Interlock is the leading provider of ignition interlock device services, including installation and ongoing maintenance. We use the best equipment, parts, and technology and pride ourselves on our dedication to convenience, which is why you can easily find several certified ignition interlock installation locations throughout the city of Santa Cruz and in surrounding areas.
Schedule an Install
Registering takes less than 30 seconds.
To Schedule an Install, please provide the information below and an LCI Representative will contact you shortly.
Central Coast Audio
Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Santa Cruz, CA
While a pilot program currently only requires ignition interlock devices for DUI convictions in just four counties in California (Los Angeles, Alameda, Sacramento, Tulare), a bill was signed in 2016 that will expand the program by 2019. Under this bill, all DUI convictions will require you to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicles you own or operate.
Not all DUI charges are the same and depend on various factors, including license type, your age, and any previous DUI charges on your record. Generally when you are charged with a DUI, you will receive an Admin Per Se (or administrative) suspension if you fail a breath test or refuse to take a breath test. This is an action taken by the DMV and is passed by the officer immediately at the time of arrest. The officer will issue an order of suspension and temporary license. You have the right to request a hearing and must request an administrative hearing within 10 days of receiving the order of suspension.
Refusing to take a chemical test generally comes with harsher Admin Per Se penalties. For a first offense, you could end up with a license suspension of a year. For a second offense, your license will be revoked for two years. Third offenses come with a license revocation of three years.
If you are convicted in a criminal court or through a plea agreement, you may suffer various penalties. Your first offense may lead to:
- An immediate license suspension for at least four months
- Up to $1,000 in fines (on top of penalty and legal fees)
- Up to six months in jail
- $125 fee to reissue your license
- Mandatory DUI program
Second and subsequent offenses generally lead to more severe penalties, but these depend on various other factors. Outside of the four pilot program counties, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device if:
- Your blood alcohol concentration was 0.15 percent or higher
- You refused to take a breath test
- You had existing moving violations prior to your DUI
Low Cost Interlock offers the most affordable ignition interlock device service in Santa Cruz. Our goal is to guide you through the process so that you can complete your program smoothly and get back to living your life. If you have questions on car breathalyzers or need an ignition interlock device installation in Santa Cruz, please don’t hesitate to contact us today.