Whittier California Interlock
Low Cost Interlock is the leading provider of ignition interlock device installation, maintenance, and service. We use the latest technology to give you an easier, more efficient ignition interlock device that provides reliable results so that you can go about your day. You will find several convenient interlock installation locations throughout Whittier, California, and in surrounding cities.
Schedule an Install
Registering takes less than 30 seconds.
To Schedule an Install, please provide the information below and an LCI Representative will contact you shortly.
Car Stereo Masters
16511 Whittier Blvd.
Whittier, CA 90603
DUI Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Whittier
In September of 2016, the state of California signed a law that requires most drunk drivers charged with a DUI to install ignition interlock devices. The program is to take effect in 2019. Currently, a pilot program requires any drunk drivers to install ignition interlock devices if they have been convicted in the counties of Los Angeles, Sacramento, Alameda, and Tulare.
You can be subject to two different types of suspensions for a DUI. Administrative suspensions come from the DMV and are enacted immediately at the time of arrest if your blood alcohol concentration exceeds the legal limit or if you refuse to take a breath test. With an administrative suspension, you are given a 30-day temporary license.
Along with an administrative suspension, you may receive a suspension directly from a criminal court after a trial or plea agreement. The length of this suspension and any coinciding penalties depends on the severity of your DUI and any previous DUI charges on your record in the last 10 years.
For your first offense, you may be sentenced to a six-month suspension. Second offenses come with a two-year suspension. Third offenses come with a suspension of three years, while fourth and subsequent DUI charges come with four-year suspensions.
Your ignition interlock device restriction period depends on the severity of the DUI. Most DUI convictions are charged as misdemeanors, but in California, DUIs can be charged as felonies, which generally come with harsher penalties. For misdemeanors, the IID restriction period:
- First offense – 5 months
- Second offense – 12 months
- Third offense – 24 months
- Fourth and subsequent offenses – 36 months
For felonies, the IID restriction period:
- First offense – 12 months
- Second offense – 24 months
- Third offense – 36 months
- Fourth and subsequent offenses – 48 months
Low Cost Interlock offers the most affordable service and reliable equipment in the business. Along with cheap interlock installation, our team has the expertise and knowledge to guide you through the process so that you can easily complete your ignition interlock device program. If you have questions on getting a car breathalyzer or need an interlock device installation in Whittier today, please feel free to contact us.