Guaranteed Lowest Cost

$0 SET-UP

$0 SHIPPING

$0 INSTALL*

*RESTRICTIONS APPLY. INTERLOCK CAN IS FREE WITH PURCHASE OF OPTIONAL INSURANCE. FREE INSTALLATION ONLY VALID ON STANDARD INSTALLATION.

Not an Interlock Fan? Get the Can FREE!* Call (844) 387-0326

Ignition Interlock Installation Laws in Kansas

Low Cost Interlock is committed to giving you service and tools that match your budget and personal needs. We can guide you through every step of the process and equip you with the knowledge and tools to make sure your ignition interlock program goes smoothly. Our Low Cost Interlock customer service representatives are available 24/7 to answer all of your questions. If you are ready for IID installation in KS, give us a call today.

Kansas Interlock Device Guidelines

In Kansas, an ignition interlock device may be required depending on the case and jurisdiction.

First Conviction
You are required to keep the ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle from 6 months to a full year.

Second Conviction
You are required to keep the ignition interlock device installed for at least 12 months.

Third and Subsequent Convictions
You are required to keep the ignition interlock device installed for a minimum of 24 months.

Refusing a breathalyzer, blood, or urine test results in a 1-year suspension along with a required ignition interlock system, regardless of any prior DUI offenses.

If you install an ignition interlock in Kansas, you may only drive your motor vehicle to and from school, work, an alcohol treatment program, and the ignition interlock provider. Any amount of driving done outside of these permitted locations will result in further penalties and restrictions. Furthermore, any tampering with the IID is considered a class A misdemeanor and can lead to a 90-day extension of your restricted driver’s license and driving privileges. Subsequent DUI convictions can lead to your restriction period starting over entirely.

Click here to learn more about the Kansas Ignition Interlock Program.

Kansas DUI Penalties

For first offenses:

  • $1,000 in fines
  • 2-days in jail or 100 hours community service
  • 30-day license suspension

If you commit a second DUI offense:

  • $1,500 in fines
  • Up to 1-year in jail
  • 1-year license suspension

A third and additional offenses can result in:

  • $2,500 in fines
  • Up to 1-year in jail
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Additional penalties

A person could face further penalties and restrictions if they had a child under the age of 14 in the vehicle during the time of arrest.

Learn more about Kansas DUI laws and penalties here.

General Information

Alcohol Violations

Transporting open containers of alcoholic beverages where they are accessible to the driver or passengers is a misdemeanor violation of state law. For a  complete list of penalties see K.S.A. 8-1014 on www.KSLegislature.org.

All containers of alcoholic beverages in Kansas must bear a state tax stamp. Interstate transportation of alcoholic beverages and transportation of alcohol off federal reservations are prohibited. All beer kegs must bear a state registration tag that identifies the purchaser.

Driving Under the Influence

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood or breath alcohol and/or drug concentration (BAC) of .08 or more, or if the influence or drugs and/or alcohol render the driver incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle.

If you are charged with driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI), under Kansas law you could:

  • Be arrested and booked into jail.
  • Have your vehicle towed.
  • Lose your driver’s license.
  • Face criminal charges.
  • Be required to complete a screening assessment for placement in an intervention program at your expense.
  • Incur numerous personal and financial losses.

DUI offenders face criminal and administrative penalties. See the charts below for the penalties, as described in Kansas statutes.

Facts

  • The loss of lives to impaired driving is preventable. There are alternatives to impaired driving, which include:
    • Designate a sober driver.
    • Take a taxi or call a safe ride program.
    • Arrange to spend the night where you are.
  • Impaired driving is a chronic problem that will affect one in three Americans in their lifetime. Nearly 42,000 people die in motor vehicle crashes each year, and about 16,000 of these are alcohol-related. Every day of the year, alcohol-related crashes account for one death every 33 minutes and one person injured every 2 minutes.
  • Kansas has zero tolerance for drivers under 21 years old who choose to drink and get behind the wheel. Drivers under 21 who are found to have a BAC of .02 or greater face a 30-day suspension of driving privileges followed by a 330-day period of restricted privileges. Also, any person under 21 convicted of consuming or possessing alcoholic beverages will have his/her driver’s license suspended for 30 days under Kansas law.

Alcohol Actions for All Drivers – BAC .08-.1499

Chemical Test Failure

Penalties
1st Offence 30 day suspension, 6 month or 1 year interlock; $200 reinstatement fee
2nd Offence 1 year suspension; 1 year interlock; $400 reinstatement fee
3rd Offence 1 year suspension; 2 year interlock; $600 reinstatement fee
4th Offence 1 year suspension; 3 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee
5th Offence 1 year suspension; 10 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee

DUI Conviction

Penalties
1st Offence 30 day suspension, 6 month or 1 year interlock; $200 reinstatement fee
2nd Offence 1 year suspension; 1 year interlock; $400 reinstatement fee
3rd Offence 1 year suspension; 2 year interlock; $600 reinstatement fee
4th Offence 1 year suspension; 3 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee
5th Offence 1 year suspension; 10 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee

Vehicular Battery – with DUI Conviction

Penalties
1st Offence 30 day suspension, 6 month or 1 year interlock; $200 reinstatement fee
2nd Offence 1 year suspension; 1 year interlock; $400 reinstatement fee
3rd Offence 1 year suspension; 2 year interlock; $600 reinstatement fee
4th Offence 1 year suspension; 3 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee
5th Offence 1 year suspension; 10 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee

Chemical Test Refusal Court Conviction

Penalties
1st Offence 1 year suspension, 2 year interlock; $600 reinstatement fee
2nd Offence 1 year suspension; 3 year interlock; $900 reinstatement fee
3rd Offence 1 year suspension; 4 year interlock; $1,200 reinstatement fee
4th Offence 1 year suspension; 5 year interlock; $1,500 reinstatement fee
5th Offence 1 year suspension; 10 year interlock; $1,500 reinstatement fee
A driver will only be eligible for a 6 month interlock restriction for the first occurrence Chemical Test Failures, DUI Convictions, Vehicle Battery with DUI Convictions, and Chemical Test Refusal Convictions with a BAC of .08 to .1499; and if their driving record does not show any major convictions, prior suspensions, revocations, or cancellations; or an accumulation of 3 moving violations of separate occasions within a 12 month period.

Alcohol Actions for All Drivers with a BAC of .15 or Greater

Chemical Test Failure

Penalties
1st Offence 1 year suspension; 1 year interlock; $200 reinstatement fee
2nd Offence 1 year suspension; 2 year interlock; $400 reinstatement fee
3rd Offence 1 year suspension; 3 year interlock; $600 reinstatement fee
4th Offence 1 year suspension; 4 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee
5th Offence 1 year suspension; 10 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee

DUI Conviction

Penalties
1st Offence 1 year suspension; 1 year interlock; $200 reinstatement fee
2nd Offence 1 year suspension; 2 year interlock; $400 reinstatement fee
3rd Offence 1 year suspension; 3 year interlock; $600 reinstatement fee
4th Offence 1 year suspension; 4 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee
5th Offence 1 year suspension; 10 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee

Vehicular Battery – with DUI Conviction

Penalties
1st Offence 1 year suspension; 1 year interlock; $200 reinstatement fee
2nd Offence 1 year suspension; 2 year interlock; $400 reinstatement fee
3rd Offence 1 year suspension; 3 year interlock; $600 reinstatement fee
4th Offence 1 year suspension; 4 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee
5th Offence 1 year suspension; 10 year interlock; $800 reinstatement fee

Chemical Test Refusal Administrative

Alcohol Convictions for Drivers of All Ages
Penalties
1st Offence 1 year suspension; 2 year interlock; $600 reinstatement fee
2nd Offence 1 year suspension; 3 year interlock; $900 reinstatement fee
3rd Offence 1 year suspension; 4 year interlock; $1,200 reinstatement fee
4th Offence 1 year suspension; 5 year interlock; $1,500 reinstatement fee
5th Offence 1 year suspension; 10 year interlock; $1,500 reinstatement fee