Ignition Interlock Device Rhode Island
Rhode Island Ignition Interlock Device Guidelines
The guidelines for ignition interlock systems can differ by case. As of January 1, 2015, you are required to install an ignition interlock device in all the motor vehicles you own and operate if you:
- Have been arrested with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher
Are arepeat DUI offender
refuseto take an alcohol test
After the third and subsequent DUI offenses, the court may require you to use an ignition interlock device for up to 2 years. These requirements begin after the completion of any incarceration penalties you may have.
Rhode Island DUI Penalties
The severity of penalties for a DUI in Rhode Island
- 0.08 to 0.10
- 0.10 to 0.15
- 0.15 and higher
First-time offenders are required to pay up to $400 in fines along with a $500 highway assessment fee and serve 1 year in prison or 60 hours of community service. A second offense mandates a fine up to $1,000 and up to a year of jail time. A third offense can lead to a fine up to $5,000 and up to 5 years of prison time.
Penalties also often include a loss of license for up to 3 years for third-time DUI offenders. The court may also mandate possible vehicle confiscation and mandatory substance abuse treatment and assessment. If you are underage, you may experience additional fines and suspension periods.
Looking for an interlock service provider in Rhode Island? Select from Chepachet, Newport, Providence, Westerly, Warwick , and Woonsocket to locate
Auto Audio and Accessories
188 Putnam Pike
Chepachet, RI 02814
TJ’s Audio & Electronics
188 Connell Hwy.
Newport, RI 02840
1188 B Putnam Pike
Providence, RI 02814