Mesquite Texas Interlock
You can find several ignition interlock device installation locations in Mesquite, along with many more in neighboring areas and throughout the state of Texas. Click here to find the closest
Schedule an Install
To Schedule an Install, please provide the information below and an LCI Representative will contact you shortly.
Affordable Kar Kare Inc.
Mesquite, TX 75149
Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Texas
Texas has administrative laws in place to further penalize people driving under the influence of alcohol. These laws are enforced by the Department of Public Safety and are known as Administrative License Revocation penalties and generally result in a license suspension or revocation for failing or refusing a chemical breath test administered by an officer who suspects you may be driving under the influence of alcohol. Generally, administrative penalties are harsher for refusing a test compared to outright failing a test. For example, a first offense test refusal will result in a 180-day suspension, while a test failure will result in a 90-day suspension. It is always encouraged to take the test.
These administrative penalties are in addition to any criminal penalties you may suffer if you are charged with a DWI in a court of law. Specific criminal penalties can vary from person to person based on your age, previous DWI offenses, and circumstances of your case (like injuries and damage to property). For a first offense DWI, you can generally expect:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Up to 180 days in jail (mandatory minimum of three days)
- A license suspension of up to two years
- A surcharge of $2,000 each year for three years to maintain your license
- Completion of a DWI intervention, evaluation, and education program
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
You are responsible for all costs and fees associated with owning an ignition interlock device, and the device can only be installed by a court-approved vendor.