How to Get Your License Back After a DUI
Wondering how to get your license back after a DUI? You wouldn’t be the only one thinking this question after getting a DUI charge.
Getting your driver’s license suspended is one of the worst consequences to deal with after being charged with a DUI. This blog will provide you with general information about steps you may need to take to regain your license, how long a suspension period may last, and how Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) and rehabilitation programs may help you keep this restricted period to a minimum.
Understanding the process and requirements is crucial for a successful reinstatement, allowing you to get back on the road and move forward with your life. The information provided herein is general and is not intended to and should not be relied upon or construed as a legal opinion or legal advice. You should consult your attorney to obtain advice applicable or appropriate to your jurisdiction, your particular situation, and the specific course of action you should follow.
How Long Might Your License Be Suspended After a DUI?
The duration of license suspension after a DUI varies depending on the state and the specifics of your case. The period can generally range from 90 days to several years. For example, the minimum time in Oregon is one year for the first offense and two years for the second offense.
Beyond whether or not this was your first or second offense, other factors that may impact your DUI probation period is your breath alcohol content (BAC) was when you were driving your motor vehicle or if you were to refuse a test altogether. Some states, like South Carolina, charge you with 30 – 90 days in jail, $1,000 in fines, and a six-month driver’s license suspension when your BAC is at least 0.16% on your first DUI conviction.
Remember that by adhering to the requirements ordered by the court, you can help keep this time to a minimum.
See related: Do They Take Your License After a DUI?
Steps to Regain Your Driving License
So, can you drive after a DUI? You can eventually, by following certain laws and regulations. In our experience as an interlock device and services provider, Low Cost Interlock has learned the following are some general steps you may be required to take to regain your driving license after a DUI:
- Navigate the Legal Process:
- Consult your attorney to to obtain advice applicable or appropriate to your jurisdiction, your particular situation, and the specific course of action you should follow
● Your attorney can help you review and understand the court orders associated with your DUI case.
● Your attorney can advise you about any fines, community service, or educational programs mandated by the court.
● Your attorney can help advise you about what you need to do to adhere to the terms of your probation diligently such as regularly check in with your probation officer and provide any required updates.
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Compliance:
● Discuss with your attorney any state requirements to install an IID and the requirements for IID compliance, including installation, maintenance, and monitoring.
● Following IID guidelines may help you demonstrate commitment to responsible driving.
- Complete Rehabilitation Programs:
● Explore rehabilitation programs, such as counseling and educational courses, that may be recommended or required or suggested by your attorney.
● Completing the program may impact your reinstatement eligibility.
● Gather documentation and evidence of your participation in these programs.
- Gather Necessary Paperwork:
● Collect all required paperwork for the reinstatement process.
● This may include proof of completion of rehabilitation programs, IID compliance records, and any additional documentation specified by your state.
- Stay Compliant with Probation.
Discuss with your attorney whether following these steps will minimize your probation time and prevent escalating your case further into harsher consequences such as driver’s license revocation and serving jail time. Remember, only your attorney can provide assurances about your requirements and circumstances. and
Conclusion Reclaim Your License With Low Cost Interlock
Reclaiming your unrestricted driver’s license after a DUI charge is undoubtedly a complex journey, but it’s a journey you can navigate successfully with the correct information and support. Need to get an IID in your motor vehicle? Our team can help! Schedule an Ignition Interlock installation appointment with us now.
The information in this blog is for general informational purposes only. Information may be dated and may not reflect the most current developments. The materials contained herein are not intended to and should not be relied upon or construed as a legal opinion or legal advice or to address all circumstances that might arise. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation. Links to any third-party websites herein are provided for your reference and convenience only; Low Cost Interlock does not recommend or endorse such third party sites or their accuracy or reliability. Low Cost Interlock expressly disclaims all liability regarding all content, materials, and information, and with respect to actions taken or not taken in reliance on such. The content is provided “as is;” no representations are made that the content is error-free.
- Driving Laws. DUI Laws by State. https://dui.drivinglaws.org/resources/state-dui-laws.htm
- Alcohol.org. How to Get Your Driver’s License Back. https://alcohol.org/dui/get-license-back/
- American Addiction Centers. DUI & DWI Treatment Programs. https://americanaddictioncenters.org/alcoholism-treatment/dui