Guaranteed Lowest Cost
$0 SET-UP $0 SHIPPING $0 INSTALL*
Not an Interlock Fan?
Get the Can FREE!* Call (844) 387-0326
Exclusive CADTP Partner!
*RESTRICTIONS APPLY. INTERLOCK CAN IS FREE WITH PURCHASE OF OPTIONAL PROTECTION PLAN. FREE INSTALLATION ONLY VALID ON STANDARD INSTALLATION
Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Arizona
If you are looking for the cheapest ignition interlock AZ device, you have come to the right place. Low Cost Interlock is a leading provider of ignition interlock systems throughout Arizona. In a time where you might be feeling overwhelmed, we are dedicated to making the process of obtaining and installing an in-car breathalyzer as easy and convenient as possible.
Arizona Interlock Device Guidelines
Arizona ignition interlock device program guidelines differ from case to case. After a DUI conviction, you may apply for a Special Restricted Driver License, which allows you to drive under the condition that any motor vehicle you operate is outfitted with an ignition interlock device.
You may be eligible for an ignition interlock device 45 days after your initial license suspension. Offenders who had a blood alcohol level of 0.15 to 0.2 when they were arrested for their DUI may have all but 9 days of their jail sentence suspended by the judge if they agree to install a certified ignition interlock device. For those with a blood alcohol concentration level greater than 0.2, the judge may suspend jail time to just 15 days if you install an IID device or breathalyzer.
Offenders of impaired driving are also required by the court to outfit vehicles with an alcohol ignition interlock system for 1 year after the license suspension or revocation period or date of conviction (whichever is later).
This only occurs if:
- You commit a second DUI offense within 84 months
- You commit a third or subsequent drunk-driving offense
- You commit a drunk-driving offense with a suspended or revoked license for a prior DUI conviction
- You commit a drunk-driving child endangerment offense
- You commit a first or second DUI offense with a BAC of 0.15 or higher
You can learn more about reinstating your Arizona driver license here.
Arizona DUI Penalties
Penalties for a DUI in Arizona differ based on the offense and could see the following actions taken against them.
First Time DUI Offense
- 10 days in jail
- $1,600 in fines
- 90-day license suspension
Second DUI Offense
- 90 days jail time
- $3,000 in fines
- 1-year license suspension
Third DUI Offense or More
- 2 years in jail
- $150,000 in fines
- 3-year license suspension
For more information on Arizona DUI laws and penalties, click here.
In cases involving driver license suspension/revocation resulting from a DUI-related violation date on or after Feb. 1, 2006, you may be eligible for a special restricted driver license if you have:
- contacted MVD to verify eligibility (or received a notice of eligibility from MVD).
- no other outstanding withdrawal actions pending on your driving record.
- installed an ignition interlock on your vehicle and provided MVD proof with a “Verification of Installation” form.
- complied with mandatory alcohol treatment programs (if required) and submitted proof of completion to MVD.
- submitted proof of future financial responsibility to MVD (e.g., certificate of automobile liability insurance known as an SR22).
- paid all applicable fees.
Please Note: A SIIRDL is not a requirement and is not credited toward any other Ignition Interlock Order that may be present on the driver record.
A violation during your SIIRDL time may result in a cancelation of your restricted interlock license.
Your SIIRDL will expire the same date as the suspension/revocation that the SIIRDL is attached to. When your SIIRDL expires, it is against the law for you to continue to drive until you have complied with all state requirements.
You may also be required to:
- complete a Revocation Application(link is external).
- continue your SR22.
- continue to maintain a Certified Ignition Interlock Device.
- reinstate your driving privileges.
- pay all applicable fees.
The license is valid only during the period of suspension or revocation and allows vehicle operation between a:
- place of employment during specified periods of time while at employment.
- place of employment and the person’s school according to the person’s employment or education schedule.
- place of employment or school and the office of a health professional as defined in A.R.S. § 32-3201.
- place of employment or school and a screening, education or treatment facility for scheduled appointments.
- place of employment or school and the office of the person’s probation officer for scheduled appointments.
- place of employment or school and a certified ignition interlock device service facility.
- location designated for the purpose of parenting time as defined in A.R.S. § 25-401 (Effective 12/31/2018) or to transport a dependent who is living with you, between your residence and the dependent person’s employment, school or medical appointment (Effective 12/31/2018).
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in 2016, almost 29 people in the United States die in alcohol-impaired vehicle crashes every day.
The International Council on Alcohol, Drugs and Traffic Safety maintains that interlocks, when combined with a comprehensive monitoring and service program, lead to a 40-95 percent reduction in the rate of repeat drunk driving offenses, as long as the device remains on the vehicle. NHTSA strongly supports the expansion of ignition interlocks as a proven technology that keeps drunk drivers from getting behind the wheel.
An ignition interlock is a breath-analyzing device that is wired to the vehicle’s ignition and installed on the vehicle dashboard. Before the vehicle can be started, the driver first must exhale into the device. If the interlock detects alcohol on the breath, the engine will not start.
When Arizona law mandates use of an interlock following a period of driver license suspension/revocation, you must have one installed by an MVD-authorized company and provide proof of the installation.
MVD uses special forms and procedures to monitor drivers required to have the device installed. Your record will be marked so that law-enforcement officers will be aware of the interlock requirement if you are stopped. You may be issued a replacement driver license containing the words “Ignition Interlock” if this is not your first offense.
Please Note: Have your interlock device installed first and then reinstate your driver license. Specific steps are required to establish a starting point for your required ignition interlock time frame. You can reinstate online or visit an MVD or Authorized Third Party office.