Guaranteed Lowest Cost
$0 SET-UP $0 SHIPPING $0 INSTALL*
Not an Interlock Fan?
Get the Can FREE!* Call (844) 387-0326
Exclusive CADTP Partner!
*RESTRICTIONS APPLY. INTERLOCK CAN IS FREE WITH PURCHASE OF OPTIONAL PROTECTION PLAN. FREE INSTALLATION ONLY VALID ON STANDARD INSTALLATION
Ignition Interlock Device Laws in Wyoming
Low Cost Interlock is a premiere provider if you need an ignition interlock device in WY. We are committed to quality equipment backed by excellent customer service. We want to guide you through every step of the process, from installation to completion of your interlock device program. You will find several ignition interlock device installation locations throughout Wyoming to ensure that your system is calibrated and working properly.
Wyoming Interlock Device Guidelines
First-time DUI offenders who are arrested with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher must install ignition interlock devices in any vehicles they operate for six months after the initial date of the conviction. For second offenses, you may only operate vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device in Wyoming for a one-year period after the conviction date. For third DUI offenses, that period is increased to two years.
For fourth and additional DUI convictions, you may only operate vehicles outfitted with an ignition interlock device for the rest of your life. Every five years after the initial conviction, you may apply to the court for a removal of the ignition interlock device. If you have not been convicted of a DUI during your suspension, the court may allow you to remove the device.
Failure to submit to any required chemical tests will result in a suspension of your license for six months for first offenders. Second and further offenses will result in a suspension up to 18 months, and you may be required to install an interlock breathalyzer device in vehicles you own.
Wyoming DUI Penalties
For first DUI offense
- You are required to pay a fine of up to $750
- Serve up to 6 months in prison
- Get your license suspended for 90 days
- Pay between $200 and $750 in fines
- Serve a mandatory seven days in jail
- Along with an added possible jail time of up to 6 months
A third offense within 10 years will force a
- Fine of up to $3,000
- 30 days of mandatory jail time with a potential jail time of 6 months
- Required to undergo alcohol assessment.
Click here to learn more information about Wyoming’s ignition interlock device program.
Ignition Interlock Program
What is an “Interlock?” An Ignition Interlock is a device that is installed on motor vehicles to prohibit individuals from operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. It requires your breath sample before the engine will start and you are periodically required to provide breath samples while driving. If the device detects an elevated alcohol concentration level, the vehicle will not start.
You will be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device and make application for an Ignition Interlock Restricted License if you have been convicted of Driving under the Influence of Alcohol.
- 1st DUI conviction with a BAC of .15 or above
- 2nd or subsequent DUI conviction regardless of the BAC level
Circumventing or disconnecting the device will result in additional legal action, driving penalties and additional ignition interlock required time. Anyone assisting with device tampering and/or circumvention may also be subject to criminal and/or suspension action.
Ignition Interlock Restricted License
Once you have received notification from the Department of an ingnition interlock requirement, you will need to do the following:
- Have a Wyoming approved ignition interlock device installed in any vehicle you plan on driving. The device must be installed in Wyoming at an approved Sevice Center by a Wyoming Certified technician. The driver must provide a copy of the ignition interlock device installation certificate to the Department;
- File SR-22 insurance with the Department;
- Apply for a special “IIR” restricted driver’s license.
- Pay the $50 reinstatement fee, regular driver license fee and the $100 ignition interlock administrative fee.
An ignition interlock restricted license shall not be issued to any person who is not eligible. An ignition interlock restricted license shall not be issued to any person holding a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
For more information, view the Ignition Interlock Program brochure.
Ignition Interlock Assistance
Indigent persons (Wyoming Statute 31-7-401) required to operate only vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device may have ½ the costs of obtaining and using such device paid from funds made available by the state. A person shall be considered indigent if they are able to produce evidence that they are eligible and qualified to participate in the federal supplemental nutrition assistance program (SNAP).
To see if you are eligible, you will need to submit the application for Ignition Interlock Assistance. If approved, the $100 Ignition Interlock administrative license fee would not be required when applying for the Ignition Interlock license.