Facing a DUI conviction can be overwhelming—between potential license suspensions, court hearings, mandatory DUI schools, fines, penalty assessments, possible jail time, and more, the process can be daunting.
At Low Cost Interlock, we understand how confusing and stressful a DUI conviction can be. We also understand that no one expects to get a DUI and that the financial repercussions can be significant.
As always, we’re here to help. In addition to helping you complete your ignition interlock requirement and get back on the road safely with our ignition interlock device, we’re here to help you know what to expect when it comes to the possible costs of a DUI.
Keep in mind that the average cost of a DUI will vary state-to-state, and it can also depend on unique factors, including whether or not this is your first offense. For example, according to the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the average cost of a first time DUI conviction is $24,265.
Still, it’s helpful to have an estimate of what to expect after receiving a DUI conviction.
The average cost of a DUI
The consequences of your DUI conviction will vary depending on your local state laws. Consequences that can incur a significant cost include license suspensions, fees and penalties, mandatory alcohol education courses, attorney fees, and more.
Below is a list of the average costs of DUI consequences across all 50 states:
- Fines: For first-time offenders, the average cost of a DUI fine is $315. For second convictions, the average fine is $545. Additionally, some states have minimum DUI fines. Alaska, Arizona, and Utah have the highest minimum DUI fines, at $1,500, $1,250, and $1,310 respectively.
- Penalty assessments: In some cases, you will have to pay penalty assessments in addition to DUI fines. In some states, like California, penalty assessments can increase your total fines by up to $5,000.
- Towing: When it comes to adding up the total cost of your DUI, every small thing can make a difference. Most people facing a DUI conviction will also have to pay to have their car towed, which can cost between $75-$500. Remember, if your car is impounded, storage and recovery costs can be much more expensive than the tow itself. In some states, recovery fees can run more than $1,000.
- Bail and court: Estimating the cost of bail and court time can be difficult, as there are so many unique factors that can greatly increase, or decrease, the cost. In most states, a DUI conviction can trigger either a DMV per se suspension hearing or a DUI jury trial or bench trial in criminal court. Generally, the average cost of bail and court fees is $133.
- License fees: Unfortunately, getting your license reinstated after paying your penalties and satisfying your sentence will cost you additional fees. Some states only charge $20 for license reinstatement, while others can charge $70 or higher. In some states, like Rhode Island, you’ll need to pay a specific DUI reinstatement fee, which is over $150.
- Insurance increase: Not surprisingly, your insurance premiums will increase after a DUI conviction. Depending on your carrier and where you live, you can face up to 112% increase in your car insurance premium. The average cost of increased insurance premiums after a DUI is $2,231.
- Interlock ignition device: Yes, using an interlock ignition device will add to the total cost of your DUI. The average cost of installation, monthly fees, and removal of an interlock ignition device is $748. When ready, you can contact one of our LCI specialists to get a quote for our ignition interlock devices. All you’ll need is your driver’s license information, vehicle registration information, and court paperwork. If so, we’ll do everything in our powers to ensure that our services are affordable and convenient for your needs.
- Alcohol education: Not everyone who faces a DUI conviction will need to satisfy mandatory alcohol education requirements, but if you do, you’ll have to cover the cost of the educational course. The average cost of alcohol education in the US is $235.
- Lost wages: Lost wages incurred during jail time will vary significantly depending on your state, your occupation, and whether or not your state charges you a daily rate for incarceration. On average, those facing DUI conviction will spend at least two days in jail, making the average cost of lost wages during that time $288. Keep in mind that some people who face longer jail sentences also face job loss, which can carry a much more significant long-term cost.
- Attorney fees: Now for the kicker: If you choose to hire an attorney to represent you in court, the cost can be significant. Of course, if you’re unable to hire an attorney on your own, one may be assigned to you free of charge. In California, DUI attorney fees can range from $2,000 to $70,000, depending on experience.
Which states have the highest costs for a DUI?
On average, the states in which people incur the highest costs for their DUI conviction are: Alaska, Utah, Georgia, Arizona, and California.
Which states have the lowest costs for a DUI?
On average, the states in which people incur the lowest costs for their DUI conviction are: South Dakota, Mississippi, Ohio, Vermont, and Missouri.
How Low Cost Interlock can help
Our mission is simple: We’re here to help you get back on the road easily, safely, and affordably.
Our devices are the easiest, cheapest, fastest, and most reliable interlock devices on the market. We use the latest technology to ensure that your readings are accurate so that you can get back on the road as soon as possible.
If you decide to use Low Cost Interlock as your interlock system provider, you can schedule an installation at your convenience. Our team will then quickly and efficiently install your device at the time of your choosing, getting you ready to get back on the road safely.
After installation, our customer care representatives are available if you have questions or need assistance.