Hayward, California DUI Ignition Interlock Device
Low Cost Interlock is one of the leading service providers for ignition interlock device installation and maintenance. Our team focuses on efficiency and convenience, and we offer several locations throughout the city of Hayward, California, with many more in the surrounding area. Find out more about our Low Cost Interlock device installation locations!
Schedule an Install
Registering takes less than 30 seconds.
To Schedule an Install, please provide the information below and an LCI Representative will contact you shortly.
Hayward, CA 94544
Hayward Ignition Interlock Device Laws
A bill signed in September 2016 ordered the mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices for most DUI charges in the state of California. In California, you can undergo two types of suspensions for a DUI. The first is an administrative suspension, which can occur at the time of arrest if your blood alcohol concentration exceeds the legal limit (0.08 or higher) or if you refuse to take a breath test. During this suspension, you will be given a temporary 30-day license, which allows you to drive and get any affairs in order before your trial.
The second suspension for a DUI is a court suspension, which occurs when you are charged during your trial or plea agreement. In all cities in Alameda County, including Hayward, you are required to install an ignition interlock if you are convicted of a DUI in criminal court. However, the suspension period and the restricted license period (during which you must have an ignition interlock installed) depend on the amount of previous DUIs you have been charged with.
In California, DUIs can be charged as misdemeanors or felonies. Most offenses are charged as misdemeanors, and thus carry lighter penalties and suspensions.
- For first offenses, you are required to undergo a six-month suspension period and may apply for a restricted license at the court’s discretion.
- Second DUI offenses come with a suspension period of two years, but you may apply for a restricted license after 90 days.
- Third offenses have a suspension period of three years, and you may apply for a restricted license after 18 months.
- Fourth and subsequent DUI offenses come with a suspension period of four years, and you may apply for a restricted license after 18 months.
The court may make exceptions for those who drive vehicles for work or that are otherwise owned by employers.
Low Cost Interlock offers the most affordable, reliable service for a DUI ignition interlock in California. With an experienced team and high quality parts and technology, we are your trusted ignition interlock device installers. If you have any questions about getting a DUI interlock in California or need a car breathalyzer installed, please contact our Low Cost Interlock customer service today.